Review: Truth by Christina Benjamin

March 24, 2016 , In: Book Reviews, Books , With: No Comments
0

Synopsis (from Amazon): The Geneva Project Series (Volume 1)
Trapped on a flood ravaged island full of orphans, natives and wealthy citizens of the prosperous city Lux, a young girl named Geneva finds herself enslaved at an orphanage with no future and a past she can’t remember. That all changes when she meets someone who promises her that there’s more in store for her than she ever could have imagined. Her once dull life rapidly spirals out of control as she starts to acquire new magical powers that may be the key to unlocking an ancient legend along with her true identity. But first she must master these powers, all while trying to keep them secret from her friends and the evil head mistress at the orphanage. Before she knows it, Geneva is in over her head and has inadvertently wrapped her friends into her web of magic and lies and now all of their lives hang in the balance once the head mistress finds out her plan to prove that the legend of Lux may not be a legend at all! Who will Geneva trust and how far will she go to save her friends and find out her true identity?

www.TheGenevaProjectBook.com

Gold Medal – Florida Authors & Publishers Assoc. Award (YA Fiction)
Runner Up – London Book Festival (YA Fiction)
Top Choice – www.litpik.com

Note: This book is the first in a series. Great for Teen & Young Adult readers who enjoy Magic, Myths & Legends, Fairytales & Folklore, kids, children’s fiction, teen, YA, Young Adult fiction, Orphans & Foster homes, Coming of Age, Fantasy, Adventure, Middle Grade, Dystopian, Teen Fiction, Mythical Creatures, Paranormal & Urban, Strong Female Lead, Strong Character Development, Friendship, Fandoms, Books to Movies, Teen Romance, First Kiss, Sorcery, Science Fiction, Scary Stories, Witches & Wizards, Folk Tales, Good vs Evil, Psychic Telepathy, Supernatural, Suspense, Female Role Model, Diverse Characters, World Building, Epic Saga, Gods & Goddesses

20489361

Review: The truth is, I loved this book. It was unique, with an amazing blend of different characters to fall in love with as they progressed through the story. The main character, Geneva, is an orphan on the island of Lux. She lives in this brutal place, trying to survive the best she can. When she discovers something miraculous about herself in an accident, the truth slowly makes her realize that things don’t have to be like this. Things can be made better, but it’s up to her!

Truth was dark in parts, but lighthearted in others. Geneva acts like you’d expect an impulsive girl would act. She seems a little too young at times, but I am much older than her so maybe I don’t relate with her on all levels. Kids these days, am I right? I don’t think her age distracted from the story at all, but definitely showed that kids can make big things happen as much as adults can. Love that!

This book is permafree on Amazon (as far as I know), so snatch it up today!

Check out my interview with Author Christina Benjamin here.

A new prequel was released today as well! I still need to read it, but I’m excited to learn more about the beginning of this story.

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

There are no comments yet. Be the first to comment.
%d bloggers like this: